22 Day Challenge 7 of 22

Posted: November 27, 2012 by donaldsonta in 22 Day Challenge
Tags: , ,

Todays challenge can be linked here.

I was able to personally relate a lot more to Wayne’s video than I have been able to some others recently.

I don’t have a private jet, or a million dollars, but when I was younger I feel like I was definitely trying to fill my heart with different things. Drinking too much, partying too much, etc. I thought that Jesus was something to do on a Sunday morning, but then I didn’t give much thought to Him throughout the week. I didn’t understand that Jesus wasn’t just a name and a club.

As I continued my walk with Jesus I started to figure things out a bit more. Now I actually pray everyday, and realize that being a Christian is an every day thing, if not an every minute thing!

Probably the thing that’s going to stick with me most from this video is something Wayne said at the end: Success is knowing that the ones that you love will make heaven.

That’s something I pray about a lot. I know that I’ll be able to spend eternity with a lot of my loved ones, but I’ve been spending an increasing amount of time praying that my children (when they come about) will accept Christ at an early age, and continue growing with Him after I’m gone.

Comments
  1. CJNeading says:

    The part of Wayne’s story that caught my attention was when he came to the altar and fell to his knees and gave his life to Christ. I still remember the day, the place, and the time when I had to admit my weakness and an immediate void was filled by the spirit of the Lord. Its a very humbling experience(going along with the theme from the other day). I think its even harder to admit your need for a higher power when your a man. Since a wordly view of a man isnt one who falls down to his knees and bows to a loving God. I think this is one of our hopes in this group is that Christians arent just for men who where silk shirts and cry every Sunday morning. But they can be a strong leader, enjoy sports, home improvement, and yes even a beer(being responsible of course).

    Also this challenege of finding a better way to use your money and/or time comes at a perfect time for me. Given our conversation yesterday about Christmas and gift giving. And today spent a majority of the day shopping for Christmas presents. For the rest of the week Im going to try and find “BIGGER” ways to use the gifts that God has allowed me to earn.

    “Probably the thing that’s going to stick with me most from this video is something Wayne said at the end: Success is knowing that the ones that you love will make heaven.”

    A prayer I will continue to pray every morning and night. I cant wait for the day(s) when/if my family, friends, and children our filled with the unconditional love I have received.

    • jablonnc says:

      “Success is knowing that the ones that you love will make heaven”. This is one thing that has been on my mind as of late and something I’ve struggled with. My immediate family is split down the middle when it comes to God and a fear of mine is that I will not be able to help those closest to me discover God.

      One of the most intimidating people I struggle with talking to is my dad. I have tried talking with him in the past about his faith, and being a man of facts and science, I have never gotten very far. Another part of me always wonders how I can reach out to him when he knows all the dumb things I’ve done in my life.

      I know that if I truly trust in God that he will give me the words I need to reach out to him and the rest of my family, and so I pray that my faith continues to grow and that I feel empowered to do this.

Leave a Reply

