22 Day Challenge 11 of 22

Posted: December 4, 2012 by donaldsonta in 22 Day Challenge
Tags: ,

Today’s post featured a young lady named Shannon. It can be linked here.
Shannon didn’t have a real father figure in her life. She started looking other places to fill that gap.
I’ve listened to a good few sermons over the past couple years on this subject. It has really impressed me with the gravity of being a father. As intimidating as the idea already was to me, after hearing so many sermons, it’s even worse. The point of the sermons was that as a father, men should be serving their family the way God serves us. Children growing up can generate some real connections between their earthly father, and their Father in heaven. Its a big responsibility, and I pray that God has that as part of His plan for me. I’m really looking forward to the challenge.
It’s good that Shannon overcame her situation to discover that her Heavenly Father didn’t have the same shortcoming as her Dad here. I pray a lot for hard pressed single parents and children in those situations. It’s a rough way to start life.
The challenge today was to read a chapter in John. Coincidentally we’re also doing some work out of John at Church this month. John 3 to be specific, where Jesus is speaking with Nicodemus. So I read over it, and was just struck by how huge it is that we’re still able to communicate with God. Even though Jesus returned to heaven two millennium ago, he’s still talking to His children. Still helping us figure out our lives. Sometimes we sell it short. It’s just a service, just a Bible, just forgot to pray today; but communication is our lifeline to build a relationship with our Father. A father so infinite that he can put all of us “first”.

Comments
  1. Travis says:

    Definitely makes one realize the challenges (and opportunities to grow your children’s faith) you will have as a father.

    Makes you wonder what exactly went wrong with that boyfriend she spoke of – why was he controlling? Perhaps another missed opportunity by his parents?

    Glad to see the emails are coming in again.

    • donaldsonta says:

      That’s a good point that I hadn’t thought of. Some of these videos have additional casts in them, the boyfriend, parents, etc.
      A lot of people probably skim over them like I did, but I would guess that Shannon is probably praying for him. In these videos it’s easy for them to be cast as villains, but they need Christ every bit as much as the videos subject.
      Maybe iamsecond could work that into their next video push? Praying for the secondary cast in the video. The absent fathers, abusive boyfriends, drug dealers, johns, the drunk driver that killed someone. We might not like these people, but we should love them. We’re not really any better than them. And like the reasoning goes: as a creation made in Gods image our hearts cry out for justice, but when we leave this world we certainly won’t be asking God for what we actually deserve.

  2. jablonnc says:

    Better late than never. I had a little difficulty relating to this one because in my mind I had a pretty awesome dad. However my dad’s faith (or better, lack of) has actually been something that has had a pretty profound impact on my life. As I’ve shared with Terry, my dad is a very analytical/logical person and as a result has really struggled with having blind faith.

    This was definitely something that rubbed off on me growing up, and led to me walking away from God for quite a while. My excuse was always that I was “figuring it out”, however I now realize I’m not meant to figure it all out. God created me, and me trying to figure him out was not and is not his intention.

    Lately my dad has been on my mind quite a bit simply because we are a lot alike, and I know if I can find my faith I have the potential to help him find his. My prayer is that I can be as good of a dad as my dad was to me and on top of that help my children find (not force) their faith.

  3. CJNeading says:

    I HAVE AND WILL CONTINUE TO ASK FOR ALOT OF PRAYER AND WISDOM ON MY CURRENT AND FUTURE PARENTING. IT’S CRAZY TO THINK EVERY LITTLE ACTION YOU TAKE WILL HAVE AN INFLUENCE ON THEIR LIVES. THRU MY NEPHEW I LEARNED THAT THOSE LITTLE EYES ARE ALWAYS ON US AND WHETHER THAT’S YOUR FRIENDS KIDS, YOUR KIDS, NIECES, NEPHEWS, OR KIDS AT CHURCH THEY WILL ALWAYS LOOK UP TO US. SINCE I KNOW ALL OF YOU ARE GOING TO POP OUT SOME KIDS IN ABOUT 9 MONTHS OR SO. ILL TELL YA MARC DRISCOLL HA SOME GREAT SERMONS ON RAISING UP GODLY CHILDREN. IN REGARDS TO “VILLAINS” I LOVE THE IDEA OF PRAYING FOR THEM. AS TERRY SAID THEY NEED CHRIST IN THEIR LIFE AS WELL. I ACTUALLY HAVE BEEN THINKING ABOUT THIS THANKS TO WALMART AND FACEBOOK. A CERTAIN POST I SAW ON FB THAT PORTRAYED THOSE AT WALMART AS WORTHLESS SCUM SUCKING THE NATION DRY OF ALL IT’S RESOURCES. SADLY THIS WAS FROM SOMEONE WHO IS ALSO VERY OUTSPOKEN ABOUT THEIR FAITH. I’M NOT SAYING THIS TO “THROW STONES” BUT RATHER TO REFLECT PERSONALLY ABOUT IT. WHO OR WHAT AM I PAINTING AS A VILLAIN WHEN I SHOULD BE SHOWING GODS LOVE AND MERCY TO THEM. NOAH I WILL DEF CONTINUE TO PRAY FOR YA BROTHER. AND HOPEFULLY I CAN GET A “PRAYER WALL” UP ON THE SITE AT SOME POINT. SRY FOR SPELLING STUPID “SMART” PHONE TINY KEYBOARD.

Leave a Reply

