22 Day Challenge 15 of 22

Posted: December 8, 2012 by donaldsonta in 22 Day Challenge
Tags: , , ,

Today’s challenge features the Scruggs. Here’s the link.

It’s a story that I’m totally going to take for granted because my wife is super, and we’re old hat at reconciliation. As part of our wedding vows we actually vocalized putting Jesus first.
I don’t always remember to put Jesus first though. Truth be told I’m kind of a jerk. I get angry pretty quick, and I say hurtful things without thinking.
My wife gets angry slower, but stays that way for a minimum of two hours; while saying hurtful things without thinking.
So long as we have a couple minutes to remember that we should be serving each other as Christ served the Church, we’re golden. I wouldn’t trade a minute with her for an hour with anyone else on Earth.
I could go on forever about her. Point being, I love her, but we hurt each other all the time, and forgive as Christ forgave. We’ve been through some thick stuff, and Jesus always pulls us out together, because that’s how he made us.
Ironically this post is mirroring the video now. I was impatient. My wife and I are reconciling machines, so listening to Jeff talk about three years apart just frustrated me. The video was eleven
minutes long. ELEVEN.
I know this video might be awesome for a lot of people. For me, it was just an eleven minute reminder to live my wife better, and to thank Jesus for giving us his forgiving heart.

Comments
  1. CJNeading says:

    For some with my attention span 11 mins of anything can be a long time. It was a good reminder tho of the POWER of forgiveness. Recently haven experienced that grace I can say that even tho it’s not an easy thing to do (be the one confessing or to be the one forgiving) God uses it for his glory. And it’s a simple thing to acknowledge if you have experienced both sides. My heart goes out to those who didn’t have Jesus first in their marriage from the start. Marriage is an amazing gift but it is also hard. And I can’t imagine trying to go thru it without the love, mercy, and grace of Christ. Not saying its impossible to make him the center of your marriage after the fact but that much harder. My prayer today is for all to have Christ at te center of their marriage.

    • donaldsonta says:

      Much better worded than my response.

      It’s fantastic to have a wife to serve as Jesus serves the Church. Plus I can use Jesus relationship with us as a model for what my marriage should be, and as I grow, I can show the same love and forgiveness in relationships with my brothers and sisters in Christ. I don’t find everyone as immediately endearing as my wife, so it’s good to start by being loving with her. Lol

      • CJNeading says:

        Man I’m no scholar my any means but this iPhone and its autocorrect is making me look like a 2nd grader when I’m atleast on a 6th grade level.

      • donaldsonta says:

        Whatever grammar, spelling issues might be present; they’re not half as funny as the ALL CAPS from the other day.

        I thought you were just “on fire” for the Lord and prayer that day. Then I kept reading. I tried to figure some way to correct it short of retyping it, but I’m not that clever.

  2. jablonnc says:

    I think this video is a great reminder of what can occur when Jesus is not at the center of our lives. Our priorities get skewed, our eyes wonder and worldly desires take over our lives.

    Like Terry, it’s frustrating to hear how long these two were mad at each other and how long it took to reconcile, but to be honest I don’t think I can say how I’d react in this situation. To me it just shows that no matter how hurt you’ve been God can always help put Humpty Dumpty back together again.

    I do feel very blessed to have married a woman of such strong faith and focus on God. People are always wondering why the divorce rate is so high and why people keep making the same mistakes, well I think the answer is simple, have God at the center and he will hold everything together no matter what difficulties you face.

    CJ, I’d give you at least 8th grade status 🙂

    • donaldsonta says:

      So.

      In light of marriage, would it be reasonable to say:

      Iamthird

      ?

      • jablonnc says:

        Well said!

        Spouse, kids, immediate family, friends, etc.

        I am 8+

      • donaldsonta says:

        I can see the appeal to “iamsecond” to “iamlast” though.

        Plus I already painted my truck, so Im just gonna have to keep myself second.

        Right after God, there’s me! Makes sense right? Sounds crazy that anyone puts themselves first in that context, lol

        Or I could just imagine myself second behind everyone.

  3. CJNeading says:

    Like Ricky Bobby says if you aint first your last

Leave a Reply

