22 Day Challenge 17 of 22

Posted: December 10, 2012 by donaldsonta in 22 Day Challenge
Tags: ,

Today’s challenge is here.

Ken was raised into racism. As he developed an understanding of Gods love he realized that God loves everyone regardless of race. It seems pretty simple to me, but that probably isn’t the case for everyone.
A person raised with a belief like that would have to be “retaught” a core value of their existence. Only Gods love could accomplish the changes in a persons life that Ken talks about.

Comments
  1. CJNeading says:

    While I didn’t grow up on the same situation of Ken, I did and still need to change behavioral patterns and beliefs I had tendency to because of the way I grew up. And I don’t know how difficult it is to overcome racism but I do know how difficult it is to change habits or a belief you have know since kindergarden. And like ken said its only thru the Holy Spirit that a change can be made.

  2. Travis says:

    Good message! Not to be punching holes in the speakers iamsecond uses, but Ken may like people of all colors now but he is strongly against homosexuality (source: wiki). I think he feels that way partially as he disagrees with people who state the civil rights movement of the 60’s is the same as the gay rights movement today. Having had several friends with that persuasion (a fellow church goer, a coworker, and one who was killed during the 4/16 VT shooting) I struggle with the mixture of religion and homosexuality. I was against it but now I’m more accepting.

    …anyhow I got off subject – we can chat more on this @ small group.

    • donaldsonta says:

      I think it’s possible to still love people while opposing homosexuality. I’m hesitant to judge anyone’s intentions based on Internet stuff. Some pretty strange statements and articles were published during the Chik-Fil-A controversy.

  3. jablonnc says:

    Growing up I got to see many parts of the world and many different cultures, and I believe it’s shaped who I am and how I see the world. Unfortunately a lot of people don’t have this opportunity, and instead their views of the world and the people in it are shaped by what they’re told growing up. I think a lot of racism is driven by the unknown. We hear stories and make generalizations about a culture or people we’ve never encountered, but if we actually took the time to learn about and/or meet them, we’d see that we’re probably a lot more alike than we actually thought.

    Going off what Travis said, I think there’s a big difference between racism and having view points on what you believe to be right and wrong. As hinted on at church this past Sunday, we live in a culture where relativity is the norm. If we state that we believe something is right or wrong based off our beliefs, then we are viewed as small minded and a bigot. If however we embrace relativity, then we’re basically saying that we believe something only up to the point that we don’t want to offend someone, and if that’s the case then what does that truly say about our faith. I would second Terry’s comment regarding the fact that you can still love someone while being opposed to what they’re doing, this is the conclusion I finally reached after quite a bit of thought on the matter.

  4. Travis Church says:

    One last thought on this one…

    My grandmother wasn’t a full on racist but she did do this one strange, funny thing where she would be talking about African Americans. She would talk with a normal tone for the whole sentence but when she said the phrase “black people” she would said it in a hushed, almost whisper.

    About 5ish years before my grandmother passed away a family of incredibly friendly African Americans moved in next door. At first you could tell she was annoyed. Within a few weeks the family took her in; they would chat on the porch, eat meals together, etc. It was very powerful to see how God placed that family there, because if he hadn’t, my Grandmother may never have gotten over her prejudice/racism.

Leave a Reply

