22 Day Challenge 22 of 22

Posted: December 16, 2012 by donaldsonta in 22 Day Challenge
Tags: , , ,

Today’s challenge had another bad link. But I could tell that the video was supposed to be Tony Dungy. Here’s the link to his YouTube video for iamsecond

The challenge was to think about a failure of yours, and how you responded to it.

Tony’s video pointed out something that should probably be made more obvious to Christians: Your definition of success isn’t necessarily the same as God’s. Gods plan for us is bigger than championships or Super Bowls. He has plans whose meaning echoes in eternity, so we shouldn’t get too disappointed when our plans don’t go exactly as we wanted.

Hard to say if Gods plan was for the Super Bowl win for Tony in 2006, or if God was just answering a prayer. đŸ™‚

Comments
  1. jablonnc says:

    Probably one of my biggest failures that I encountered so far occurred during my Sophomore year of college. At that point I was attempting to get into the Graphic Design program, a program that only accepted 50% of the students enrolled. I would find out at the end of that year if I would get in or not. I had no idea what I’d do if I didn’t get in, so in a sense I put all my eggs in one basket and just crossed my fingers that I would be one of the lucky ones.

    At this time I was also partying pretty heavily and to be honest was not the best of students. I knew that my work was subpar most of the time as I valued the “social aspects” of college more, and so in order to try and combat this I picked up a job on campus that hired me to do graphic design work for them . My plan was to use the work from that job to beef up the portfolio I’d be submitting when I attempted to get into the program.

    So the day finally came. I submitted my portfolio, walked away and knew a few hours later what the verdict would be. Before even receiving the results, a part of me already knew, but even still it was tough to read the letter notifying me that the last two years of work hadn’t gotten me into the program.

    I stayed on campus that summer working the job I had picked up and pondering what I was going to do. In the meantime my boss started having me code a bit, and I soon realized it was not only something I was okay at, but also something that I enjoyed. So I coded more and more during that summer, and when the next school year started I had a new direction.

    This is how I ended up with the job I’m in. I truly believe that God was looking out for me. My plans didn’t work out as I had intended, and yet now that I can look back I think that God knew exactly where he wanted me to go. This always serves as a good reminder that even though I may not understand the things that are happening in my life, God always has a plan and will guide me where he wants me to go.

    • donaldsonta says:

      That’s a cool story Noah. It’s wonderful how God uses our personal failures to put us in positions where he wants us.

      It’s probably not a good idea for everyone to count on partying to result in a career path, but it does illustrate Gods love and sovereignty.

      I’m still surprised I spelled that last word right. I’ll count that as a blessing.

      • jablonnc says:

        Yeah, I definitely wouldn’t rely on partying to get you in the right career, it definitely shows God’s mercy and grace when I did not deserve it.

        Nice job on spelling sovereignty, I would have definitely botched that.

  2. CJNeading says:

    Noah great story! And thanks for sharing!

    I admire tony dungy on many levels. Of course it’s no secret I’m a huge football fan and they way he conducted himself as a leader is something I always have loved. His book “quiet strength” was really big for me in my journey. At that point in my life I didn’t want to read a book or listen to a sermon from a guy in a powder blue silk shirt crying every sermon or chapter. But a Super Bowl winning head coach? Ya I could get down with that. I saw thru that book the impact you could have on others by being an example of Christ. He honored God in everything even thru his son’s death. He showed me that you didn’t have to beat bibles over people’s heads to share Gods word. Even tho I still liked to from time to time.
    Our plans never seem to workout the way we would have hoped. But after i have switched lanes or made a left instead of a right I also look back and smile because it never ceases to amaze me the plan God has had all along and how blind I must have been.

Leave a Reply

