The One Thing

Posted: February 12, 2013 by donaldsonta in Doctrine
Tags: , ,

Had a short conversation last week with a friend about the Ten Commandments. We were discussing how in some belief systems sin can be “weighted”, with some sin being worse than others in God’s eye.
I think that as people, some sin can injure us more than others; for example petty theft vs murder. The Bible is pretty clear that regardless of what sin, the wage for it is death. Equally clear is that Christ paid that debt for us. Biblical support for that is peppered all through the New Testament, but I’ll go with Col 2:13-14 for a reference. Just to seem legit.
My friend and I talked about it a bit more and finally on a good meaning from the Ten Commandments. In my opinion people should worry less about keeping the law out of fear and obligation, and spend more time in scripture and prayer. In as such the person will have the heart increasingly transformed by the Holy Spirit, and will be decreasingly in violation of the Ten Commandments.
People break commandments because its their nature. The answer isn’t to ‘try harder’; the answer is to let Jesus change your nature to be more like His.

Pastor Mark Driscoll out at Mars Hill preaches on sin often enough. HERE is an excerpt from one of his sermons on unforgivable sin.

Forgive me if I worded any ideas too closely to something in the video. I haven’t watched it recently, but I am a pretty unoriginal hack. Let me know what you think in the comments section!

Comments
  1. Travis says:

    Good thoughts. I didn’t view the video so I can’t speak towards your emulation of Mark. Definitely the right perspective as I’d guestimate many Christians attempt the “try harder” method, I know I do.

    • donaldsonta says:

      On the opposite spectrum I think there’s a lot of Christians who just keep doing “the wrong thing” and wonder why God hasn’t taken that sin out of their lives. Prayer life has to be more than just occasional repentance if you want to see real transformation in your life. Ain’t no such thing as a free lunch!

      Except salvation, I guess that’s free. God be praised! šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

